Quote of the Day – January 7

“Oh, if only I could put things into words as I see them! Mr Carpenter says, “Strive- strive- keep on- words are your medium- make them your slaves- until they will say for you what you want them to say!” That is true, and I do try, but it seems to me there is something beyond words- any words- all words- something that always escapes you when you try to grasp it- and yet leaves something in your hand which you wouldn’t have had if you hadn’t reached for it– Oh, that ‘random word’- that is that Something that escapes me. I am always listening for it- my ear isn’t attuned to it- but I am sure I hear at times a little, faint, far-off echo of it- and it makes me feel a delight that is like pain and a  despair of ever being able to translate its beauty into any words I know.”

~L. M. Montgomery, Emily Climbs (1925)

 

 

Leave a Reply

